About Distinctive Collections (DDC) (DDC, 14N-118)

ACCEPTING APPLICATIONS:

Position: Archives Student Assistant

Location: On-site (Room 14N-118) and/or Remote
Available: Now through December 2024

Join the friendly staff of the Department of Distinctive Collections (DDC) and help improve access to archival collections! Learn about the history of fandom and science fiction and fantasy fanzines!

We are looking for a dependable and organized student to work 6 to 10 hours per week on-site and/or remotely with the DDC to help process and describe the MIT Science Fiction Society’s Collection of fanzines. Tasks will vary, but may include: data entry, data clean up, drafting historical and/or biographical notes, and adding description about archival materials to a web-based collections management system. On-site work may additionally include rehousing materials and assisting staff with the transfer of materials. On-site workers will be expected to move record carton size boxes (up to 40 lbs.) on occasion.

Good written and verbal communication skills, and attention to detail are required. An interest in the history of fandom, amateur print culture, or the history of science, technology, and/or MIT a plus. No prior archive experience is needed as training will be provided. If working remotely, candidates must provide their own computer and internet access.

Applicants must be able to maintain a consistent schedule of at least 6 hours a week. On-site work shifts must be scheduled between 9:00am-4:00pm, Monday - Friday in 2-6 hour shifts. Some remote work can be done outside of 9am-4pm, but onboarding, training, and meeting with supervisors must be scheduled between 9am and 4pm, Monday through Friday. $16.00 per hour to start.

If interested, please fill out our online application form. 

Not currently hiring

About Database Maintenance

• We're responsible for improving the integrity of data in the library catalog
• We're located in NE36-6101

What you'll be doing:

• Editing records identified by reports
• Evaluating reports to identify items meriting further attention
• Attention to detail is essential

Not currently hiring

About Interlibrary Borrowing & Lending (ILB & ILL)

• We're MIT Libraries' Resource Sharing unit, which supports ILLiad/ILB and Borrow Direct
• We obtain materials not owned by MIT to assist MIT users in their research and school work (ILB)
• We provide MIT materials to non-MIT institutions: books, articles, MIT publications, and more (ILL)
• We're located in 14-0551 (basement of Building 14)

What you'll be doing:

• Packing and handling outgoing boxes of loan materials (books)
• Processing incoming and outgoing loan materials
• Additional tasks as needed

What we're looking for:

• Good communication skills, punctuality, and attention to details
• Previous library experience is a plus
• Ability to work through the Spring semester preferred

Not currently hiring

Not currently hiring

Positions Available:

Not Currently Hiring:

Check out our Student Jobs FAQ.

Still have questions? Email us at student-jobs-lib@mit.edu.

Student workers in Acquisitions, Archives, and Interlibrary Borrowing & Lending assist with ordering, receiving and stamping materials, processing orders, editing records, evaluating reports, general clerical work or other special projects.

Your work may include:

• Filing, photocopying, and shredding.
• Database work with ordering and/or receiving materials.
• Managing spreadsheets.
• Assisting in projects related to digital library collections.
• Unpacking boxes and sorting materials.
• Retrieval and shipping.

Attention to detail is essential in all positions.