Search
Account
Search
Account
MIT has been a home to women scientists, mathematicians, architects, and engineers since Ellen Swallow Richards first enrolled in MIT’s Chemistry program in 1870. The Women@MIT Initiative strives to build our archival collections to reflect the rich and varied histories and experiences of women affiliated with MIT since its founding. In the next 5 years, we will focus on building out existing collections as well as adding new collections to our repository based on the following.
The Women@MIT Initiative acknowledges the erasure of cis and trans women from the historic record, especially women of color, queer women, and gender nonconforming people. We actively work to present the most accurate version of our history that we can by focusing on identifying and filling in gaps in our collections. Please contact Thera Webb, Women@MIT Project Archivist, with any questions about the Initiative or if you have materials you think might be of interest.
In particular, the Department of Distinctive Collections in interested in expanding our materials by acquiring new collections related to the following MIT affiliated groups:
● International women
● Women of color
● Women with disabilities
● LGBTQIA+ women
● Alumni/ae
● Staff
While the MIT Libraries Department of Distinctive Collections is the custodian of many diverse and historically important research collections, there are some collecting areas in which we still strive to complete dense, meaningful networks of associated records. We are particularly interested in supplementing existing collections around the following areas:
● Women scientists and engineers - Especially materials related to their labs, business associations, professional activities, teaching and other academic work, as well as materials related to their personal lives and how their scientific research intersected with them. We are interested in the records of both MIT faculty and alumni.
● Administrative records - Including institutional policies and actions relating to women within the MIT community, as well as those related to professional organizations related to women in STEM.
● Students and their experiences at MIT - We are particularly interested in increasing our materials related to the experiences of marginalized groups including those who have experienced higher attrition rates during their time at MIT. We are interested in collecting from alumni as well as non-matriculating and special students, and students who did not complete their degree program.
● Personal and Family Papers (paper, analog, and/or digital) - Letters, diaries, speeches/lectures, albums/scrapbooks, memoirs/reminiscences, photographs, professional files, genealogical information, films, videotapes and audiotapes.
● Organizational Records: (paper, analog, and/or digital) - Articles of incorporation/constitution/bylaws, correspondence, planning documents, architectural records, legal documents, diaries, minutes of meetings, reports, memoranda, newsletters and other publications, directories, financial documents, press releases, membership records, and research and subject files.
In some cases, staff may choose to not accept additional collections that are similarly represented in current holdings, or collections that do not fit within our current collection focuses. If staff determine that a collection may not be an ideal fit for the Department of Distinctive Collections, alternate repositories will be provided to interested donors.
The Department of Distinctive Collections is constantly expanding its collections of unique and rare materials. We welcome offers of materials that build upon our collecting units. Explore our collections for more information on our areas of focus.
The process of acquiring new materials involves review by the Distinctive Collections curatorial team. Our team will determine if the offered materials are an appropriate fit with our collections and ensure we have the resources to properly preserve, describe, store, and make the materials accessible.
Please visit our website for more information and to donate.
