LibGuides: Medicine: Home

Health Sciences and Technology News

Open Access and Copyright

Open access at MIT: Preserve your rights to share and reuse your articles with MIT’s OA policy. Publish open access articles via publisher agreements and OA initiatives.

Copyright & Fair Use: Our agreements with publishers allow you to reuse their figures and text. We provide expert guidance for copyright in and applying fair use guidelines.

Scholarly communications also covers: MIT and Elsevier, APIs, text and data mining, and funder requirements.

Citation and Data Management

Citation & Writing Tools:

Zotero: Organize citations and PDFs.

Overleaf: Easier collaborative writing with LaTeX.

Check out our resources or email us at cite-write-tools@mit.edu.

Data Management Services: We work with you to manage, store, and share your research information, data, or code throughout its lifecycle. Attend one of our workshops or email us at data-management@mit.edu.

Medical Discovery

PubMed
Definitive citation database for research in medicine and biosciences.
Resources and tools for computational research

Other Databases To Try

Web of Science
Indexes high-impact science, social science, engineering, and art & humanities research journals.
ClinicalTrials.gov
a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world
Cochrane Library
Evidence medicine resource includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
PsycArticles
Full-text articles in psychology and related fields.
Dimensions Analytics
Connects publications, awarded grants, patents, datasets, clinical trials and policy documents to researcher and institutional output. Access: Requires MIT Touchstone authentication and registration with your MIT email.

Medical Reference Books

Merck Index
Info on chemicals, drugs and biologicals.
Comprehensive Physiology
NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare
CDC FastStats
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance
Dictionary of Medical Terms
Biological Atlases
human, mouse etc and brain, body etc
Encyclopedia of Drug Metabolism and Interactions
Find preclinical and clinical aspects of drug metabolism and interactions, including toxicological, regulatory and marketing information.
MedlinePlus
A portal for health information from Federal Agencies and other trusted sources.

Interested in Medical Devices?

ASM Medical Materials Database
Mechanical, physical and biological response properties of implantable cardiovascular and orthopedic medical devices.
FDA's Establishment & Device Listing
Online version of former Medical Device Registry.
FDA's Medical Devices
GlobalData Medical
Includes profiles of companies in medical device and medical equipment industries. Includes information on pipeline and marketed technologies, clinical trials, deals, market projections, and comprehensive sector reports. To log in, click on IP Access.
GlobalData Pharma
Covers the entire spectrum of the pharmaceutical value system – from suppliers, manufacturers and distribution channel, all the way through to insights and trends. Includes data and information on marketed and pipeline drugs, clinical trials, analysis and forecasts on numerous disease markets. To log in, click on IP Access.
Visible Human Project
Digital image dataset of complete human male and female cadavers in MRI, CT and anatomical modes.

Biosciences Librarian

Sabrina Brown

she/her

Contact:

smbrown1@mit.edu
Hayden Library Consultation Suite 14S - 2nd floor
617.253.0035

Make an appointment with me

More ways to get help

Ask Us
Ask a question, make an appointment, give feedback, or visit us.

Medicine: Home