Over 100,000 images of the architecture of Muslim societies, curated and contextualized for scholarly research.

The ARTstor Digital Library provides nearly two million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, with contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.

Sets of images of sites in the ancient world, including those in Islamic countries. From the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at NYU.

A photographic survey of Asia's architectural heritage, with over 16,000 photos of 820 sites in twenty-one countries and background information and virtual tours.

A portal to search several sources of Creative Commons media at once, including Flickr, Google, Yahoo, and Wikimedia Commons

Over 6 million digital images from Europe's cultural institutions. Includes Islamic sites.

Exhibits and collections from institutions from around the world. Images are not available for download directly from site, but their source is listed.

This site contains maps, literature, documents, books and other relevant material concerning the past, present and future of historic cities and facilitates the location of similar content on the web.

A collection of more than 50 historic maps from the 16th to the 20th centuries CE, selected from the Harvard Map Collection.

Catalog records and digital images representing a cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division.

Photos of UNESCO World Heritage Sites. Browse by site, country, or region.

The mosque category of a richly-illustrated guide to the world's greatest sacred sites, religious art & architecture, and historic religious places

Over 40,000 images from one of the world's largest archives focusing on historic and current images of the Islamic world. You must create an account to view images.

Database of the California State University IMAGE Project. See Islamic Architecture, Islamic Applied Arts, and Islamic Painting galleries.

Selected works from the Museum’s unparalleled manuscripts, drawings, paintings, decorated ceramics, metalwork, and architectural ornamentation from Muslim civilizations.

Search nearly 2 million objects from the British Museum's collection, including many prints, paintings, and objects from the Islamic world. Limit search to "Images only."

A virtual museum that explores Islamic art and material culture in the Mediterranean region, with submissions from 14 countries.

Search over 400,000 records for works of art in this world renowned collection.

One of the world's greatest collections of Islamic art.

Search over 1 million objects from the V&A's collection, including many prints, paintings, and objects from the Islamic world. Limit search to "only records with images."

An archive of over 30,000 photographs and several hundred maps for a dozen countries but mainly Jordan. Many aerial photographs are digitized and available in Flickr.

A gallery of aerial photographs of sites in the Middle East and North Africa.

Over 7,000 images from the holdings of the American Geographical Society (AGS) Library, focusing on the countries of Asia and the Middle East.

The Photography Archive at New York University, Abu Dhabi. Documents the photographic heritage of the Middle East and North Africa.

A collection of photographs produced by residents of the Middle East and North Africa between 1860 and 1960.

Over 100,000 images of the architecture of Muslim societies, curated and contextualized for scholarly research.

More than 6,000 black and white images of medieval Islamic architecture by renowned scholar K.A.C. Creswell.

Photographs, drawings and maps of various site in the Middle East from the archive of archaeologist Ernst Emil Herzfeld.

Photographs, drawings and maps of various site in the Middle East from the archive of archaeologist Ernst Emil Herzfeld.

Photos and descriptions of fortresses in Libya, Syria, Jordan, Israel & Turkey.

A collection of 3,000 photographs produced in the Middle East by the Maison Bonfils, from 1867 to the 1910s.

Photographs from various sites in the Middle East taken during the travels of Gertrude Bell, a writer, political officer and archaeologist.

Provides open-access, searchable images for teaching, research, and publication for archaelogical sites, buildings and art in areas of the former Roman empire which later came under Islamic rule.

An overview of the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division collections of Middle East images.

Images of ancient cities of the Middle East.

Over 4000 images of patterns and design elements from Islamic art and architecture around the world.

High-quality panoramas of sites in the Islamic world (requires download of each panorama file, can't be viewed on the website)

Hundreds of photographs of Albania dating from 1863 to 1952.

The photographic archive of Machiel Kiel, a Dutch scholar of Ottoman architectural monuments in the Balkan countries. Created for the most part between the 1960s and 90s.

Digitized copies of the bulletins of the Comité de Conservation des Monuments de l’Art Arabe from 1882-1961, in French and Arabic. Also includes an index to plates.

350 plates from the "Description de l'Egypte". Includes images of antiquity, the modern world, the natural world, and maps. Site is in French.

Several thousand photos of Islamic architecture in Cairo, Egypt.

An ongoing digitization effort of more than 800 architectural plans and drawings related to over 60 villas, schools, churches, banks, and apartment buildings designed by Wissa Wassef between 1935 and 1972.

101 images of Egypt commissioned by the Underwood & Underwood publishing company in the 1890s.

Images from the collection of the American Institute of Indian Studies, divided into 4 collections: architecture, sculpture, paintings and numismatics.

Digital library collection from the University of Minnesota, including General Collection (maps, illustrations and photographs dating from the 18th through the 20th century); Journal of Indian Art (seventeen volume publication from 1886 and 1916); Stereoscopic Images of India.

A Cornell University collection of images depicting Indian architecture and culture, primarily photographed by the late professor Robert D. MacDougall.

Intended to archive the history by creating a data-bank of primary information related to architecture, planning, design, art and allied disciplines in the country. Does not currently contain online collections.

Drawings and digital images available for download, built on the Center for Art & Archaeology's (CAA) collection of 200,000 photographs and architectural drawings of South Asian monuments, art objects and archaeological sites. Also includes over 25,000 hours of sounds recordings of Indian music and performance from all over the world.

Sevruguin was an official photographer of the Imperial Court of Iran whose images provide a rich visual documentation of the Qajar and early Pahlavi dynasties of Iran.

A research project on geographic analysis of Tehran. It seeks to provide reliable information on demographic, cultural, economic and housing aspects of Tehran's inhabitants through detailed geographic studies of neighborhood and village levels.

Nearly 3,000 images of Iran from the Baroness Marie-Thérèse Ullens de Schooten Archive at Harvard Fine Arts Library. Search "Ullens" to see entire collection, or add additional terms to narrow search.

Galleries of images of bridges, mosques, palaces and other sites in Isfahan, Iran

Digitized photographs and drawings from a project undertaken between 1974 and 1976 to understand the structure and fabric of medieval Isfahan prior to large scale changes instituted under Shah Abbas of the Safavid Dynasty.

A website devoted to cartographic studies on Iran and the Iranian world current or past. Publishes new cartographic studies and digital editions of previously printed atlases.

A resource to trace, share, and enable community enrichment of the modern art heritage of Iraq (some art depicts works of architecture)

A comprehensive resource for the history of Jerusalem, containing photos, plans, maps, documents, illustrations, and inscriptions.

A visual journey into Palestine before 1948, with nearly 500 photographs.

An archive of over 30,000 photographs and several hundred maps for a dozen countries but mainly Jordan. Many aerial photographs are digitized and available in Flickr.

A visual journey into Palestine before 1948, with nearly 500 photographs.

Contains over four thousand color slides and black and white photographs of medieval Spain taken by the late Eugene Casselman (1912-1996).

The photo collection of Max von Oppenheim, a German diplomat, explorer, and collector of Oriental artifacts. 13,000 photos documenting the Near East, particularly Turkey and excavations at Tell Halaf, Syria.

Images and information about sites in Syria, by Ross Burns

Photographs of various regions of Syria, taken between 2006-2009 by Daniel Demeter

A guide to Mamluk sites in Syria, with textual information and images. In French.

A guide to the more than 8,500 images depicting Turkey in the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division.

The photo collection of Max von Oppenheim, a German diplomat, explorer, and collector of Oriental artifacts. 13,000 photos documenting the Near East, particularly Turkey and excavations at Tell Halaf, Syria.

543 photographs taken in Istanbul and five archaeological sites in Western Turkey from 1935 to 1945 by Nicholas V. Artamonoff.

Photos of works by architect Mimar Sinan